Apple’s Journal app automatically opts you into sharing your location with people around you — kind of. The truth is complicated. Here’s what it specifically means, and how to opt out.
In December, Apple released the Journal app. It’s a simple way for users to get into the habit of digitally journaling. Its simple interface — and lack of iPad support — hasn’t made the app particularly popular.
Maybe that’s why it took so long for someone to notice that Apple has a setting called “Discoverable by Others” turned on by default. The setting doesn’t quite do what it implies that it does.